Welcome to NLA

Representing bestselling authors since 2002

We are glad you found us! As a Denver-based agency, we pride ourselves on being exceptional yet just a little bit different. Look around our site and discover just what we mean. more »

Our Agents

Quressa wants thoughtful, evocative, page-turning. MORE »

Joanna wants an epic read with universal heart. MORE »

Kristin wants a good story well told. MORE »

Danielle wants strong voice, memorable characters. MORE »

Submission Guidelines

Interested in sending NLA a query letter? We’d love to hear from you. Click here for guidelines & instructions on how to submit via query manager.

Recent News

  • Doing a happy dance for Marie Lu! WILDCARD is a 2019 Teen Choice Book Award Finalist.
  • SOLD!! Print & ebook rights to NYT bestseller Hugh Howey’s indie-published novel HALF WAY HOME, when an abort order to terminate a colony ship fails, the remaining colonists don't know if their new home or their fellow survivors are the greater threat, for print and ebook publication in Fall 2019, to John Joseph Adams at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, by Kristin Nelson.
  • SOLD!! Journalist and cofounder of podcast production company Gen-Z Kids Jonathan Messinger's THE ALIEN ADVENTURES OF FINN CASPIAN, about a group of four eight-year-old space adventurers and their robot sidekicks, dealing with themes of friendship, teamwork, family, and science, to Maria Barbo at Harper Children's, by Joanna MacKenzie.
  • SOLD!! NYT bestselling author and current publisher of Cemetery Dance, Richard Chizmar's graphic novel SEASONS OF TERROR, featuring the adaptations of four classic stories by legendary authors Stephen King, Ray Bradbury, Shirley Jackson, and Robert McCammon, to Ed Schlesinger at Gallery 13, by Kristin Nelson.
  • Throwing confetti for Stacey Lee! Her latest literary novel THE DOWNSTAIRS GIRL is a Publishers Marketplace 2019 Spring/Summer YA Buzz Book!
  • In a terrific interview, Rolling Stone features Josh Malerman in "Bird Box: The Indie-Rock Lifer behind the Netflix hit."
  • The UK deal for Brittney Morris's debut novel, SLAY, is featured in Bookseller. The UK edition will be out this fall!
  • BNBuzz Says Valerie Valdes's Chilling Effect Is One of 25 Science Fiction and Fantasy Debuts That Will Transform 2019.
  • AMightygirl.com names Miranda Asebedo's THE DEEPEST ROOTS a 2018 Best Book of the Year!
  • Huge congrats to Josh Malerman as BIRD BOX moves up to #4 on the New York Times Bestseller list!
  • Colleen Oakley calls Lisa Duffy's forthcoming THIS IS HOME “A beautifully drawn portrait of a motherless girl and a rudderless woman both trying to find their place in the world— but find each other instead. Lisa Duffy nails the complexities of modern relationships, and proves that she’s a storyteller that’s here to stay.”
  • We're cheering because Ausma Zehanat Khan's A DANGEROUS CROSSING was named one of the best mysteries of 2018 by Bookriot!
  • Huge congratulations to Florence Gonsalves for making the Booklist Best of 2018 list for her debut novel, LOVE AND OTHER CARNIVOROUS PLANTS.
  • Congratulations to Ausma Zehanat Khan for a starred PW review of A DANGEROUS CROSSING, her new Khattak/Getty mystery!
  • NPR names Sherry Thomas's THE HOLLOW OF FEAR a 2018 Great Reads Best Book of the year in mysteries and thrillers!
  • Five years after publication, Josh Malerman's BIRD BOX lands for the first time at #7 on the New York Times Bestseller List. Throwing confetti!
  • Netflix announces that 45,037,125 accounts watched the Sandra Bullock movie of Josh Malerman's BIRD BOX — best first 7 days ever for a Netflix film!
  • Throwing confetti for Ally Carter and Marie Lu! NOT IF I SAVE YOU FIRST and WILDCARD are both 2018 Teen Choice Book Award Nominees!
  • SOLD!  Kathleen West's debut novel MINOR CATASTROPHES a clever narrative in the round perfect for fans of Big Little Lies about helicopter parents, overworked teachers, and the students caught in the middle—and the fallout for each of them when a social media video goes viral, to Kerry Donovan in a good deal, in a pre-empt, in a two book deal, for publication in Spring 2020.
  • Throwing confetti! Kirkus names Marie Lu's WILDCARD as the best Young Adult Science Fiction novel of 2018!
  • Throwing confetti for two 2018 Goodreads Choice Award Nominations for Marie Lu's WILDCARD (best YA SF&F) and Dacre Stoker & JD Barker's DRACUL (Best Horror).
  • SOLD!!  Robin Huber's debut duology, A LOVE LIKE YOURS and A STORY LIKE OURS to Lexi Smail at Forever Yours for publication in 2019.
  • As reported via Deadline Hollywood, Hugh Howey's BEACON 23 TV series adaptation from Zak Penn (Ready Player One, Avengers, X-Man) nears green light at Spectrum. The series will be produced by independent studio Platform One Media.
  • Bird Box official trailer starring Sandra Bullock and Trevante Rhodes. Netflix Movie December 21, 2018. Director:  Susanne Bier.  Screenplay: Eric Heisserer (Arrival)
  • Congratulations to Meghan Scott Molin on her starred PW review for December's The Frame-Up! “[A] stellar first novel and series launch...Molin’s clever humor (“the last vestiges of my resistance crumble like the shield around the USS Enterprise in every mid-episode fight sequence”) enhances the inventive plot. Readers will eagerly await the sequel.”
  • If you haven't gotten your copy of Ausma Zehanat Khan's second badass feminist fantasy novel yet, the time has come! Happy publication to THE BLACK KHAN!
  • Sold!! Activist and political science PhD Ehsaneh Sadr's A DOOR BETWEEN US, a humorous and sometimes scary snapshot of a family with clashing political ideologies in Iran in the aftermath of the 2009 election of Ahmadinejad and the ensuing Green Wave protests told in three alternating perspectives in a hopeful narrative demonstrating that life goes on even as the world feels like it is falling apart around us, to Addi Black at Blackstone Publishing, for publication in fall 2019, by Danielle Burby (World English).
  • Sold! Doug Engstrom's CORPORATE GUNSLINGER, set in a near future world in which people use their freedom as collateral against loans and dueling is a sanctioned practice for settling legal disputes; a professional gunslinger in serious debt is about to take her shot in a high-stakes duel that will either kill her or buy her freedom, to David Pomerico at Voyager, for publication in 2020, by Danielle Burby at Nelson Literary Agency (World English).
  • SOLD!! Founder of Every Damn Day WritersAlison Hammer’s YOU & ME & US, a mother-daughter love story pitched as perfect for fans of JoJo Moyes and Marisa de los Santos, about an advertising executive mom and her distant teenage daughter struggling to be a family without the one person who held them together, to Tessa Woodward at William Morrow in a good deal, at auction, in a two-book deal by Joanna MacKenzie.
  • SOLD!! As announced in The Washington PostMarie Lu has agreed to a multimillion dollar, three-book deal with Jen Besser, publisher of Roaring Brook Press. The first book is set 10 years after her third “Legend” installment which came out in 2013. Currently untitled and scheduled for Fall 2019, the upcoming novel will again feature such characters as young Eden Bataar Wing and take place in the dystopian Republic of America. Lu’s deal also includes a new series, the science fiction-fantasy “Skyhunter.” Kristin Nelson negotiated the North American deal. 

 See All Our News

Denver Skyline Photo © Nathan Forget [Creative Commons] | Site built by Todd Jackson